Caravan of Courage: An Ewok Adventure movie review

There’s one scene in this M4TV film that has forever stuck in my mind: Mace stuck under the invisible water barrier which really scared me as a kid. 

Upon this rewatch, it’s no surprise I’ve forgotten the rest…

For the first 45-minutes the script is dull and the acting is dud as it meanders around the forest moon of Endor. It does get slightly more interesting once they set out upon the quest to rescue their parents but the [mostly] non-threatening obstacles they face along the way are aggressively mediocre.

This second half is basically The Fellowship of Endor Ewoks and is enoyably silly (although, I can’t believe Tolkien didn’t get a story credit). The final confrontation in the lair of the Gorax reminded me of Land of the Giants and I really do still love the old-skool mixture of practical puppet effects and stop motion it employs throughout.

“No reward is worth this.”

Leave a comment